New Coldplay Album ‘Ghost Stories’ Announced; First Single “Magic” Released

The general music world got some exciting news over the past week as Coldplay sneaked back onto the scene with their new single “Midnight” and announcement of their next album release Ghost Stories on May 19th. Now when one thinks of Coldplay, dance music isn’t necessarily the first thing that comes to mind. However, if you travel back in time just a touch, you’ll remember year defining remixes of Coldplay tracks dominating sets at festivals and clubs such as Swedish House Mafia’s remix of “Every Teardrop is a Waterfall” and Fedde le Grand’s remix of “Paradise”. It’s been proven that Chris Martin’s vocals, Coldplay’s music, and some synthesizer/bass work by a worthy producer equal a recipe for success. Artists like Marcus Schossow and Booka Shade have already churned out their own rendition of “Midnight”.

Ghost Stories already seems to have heavy electronic influence reminiscent of Radiohead’s OK Computer with the ambient synth work in “Midnight” and slight brushes in the more signature Coldplay track, “Magic”. These glimpses into what’s to come has us excited for the rest of the album and all the future remixes that will be flooding the airwaves. Check out the track list and “Midnight/Magic” below.

Track List
01. Always In My Head
02. Magic
03. Ink
04. True Love
05. Midnight
06. Another’s Arms
07. Oceans
08. A Sky Full of Stars
09. O