Thomas Bangalter of Daft Punk Announces New Solo Album, ‘Mythologies’

It is always a good time to get news from the Daft Punk camp. Today we get just that, sort of. I say this as Thomas Bangalter, one-half of the electronic music duo Daft Punk, has just announced an upcoming solo album. Additionally, the forthcoming album is titled Mythologies and is set to drop on April 7th. This will be his first independent work since the duo disbanded on February 22, 2021.

Mythologies is an orchestral work and was originally commissioned by choreographer Angelin Preljocaj. Mythologies is the soundtrack for a ballet of the same name in 2021. The album is described as a 90-minute long score that reimagines Bangalter’s composition style, not drawing on electronic music, but rather embracing the history of orchestral ballet music.

Mytholgies is being billed as a production about the “founding myths that shape the collective imagination,”. The production was premiered by the Opéra National de Bordeaux as well as the Ballet Preljocaj.

Firstly, despite the breakup of Daft Punk, Bangalter and his bandmate Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo have since released a deluxe vinyl reissue of Homework. Secondly, they also released the storyboards from their iconic 1997 music video for “Around the World”. Lastly, while it is not exactly new Daft Punk, it is new work from one of the great minds behind the project.

In conclusion, i’ve included the tracklisting for the upcoming album, below. Enjoy!

Mythologies Tracklist:

01 Premiers Mouvements
02 Le Catch
03 Thalestris
04 Les Gémeaux I
05 Les Amazones
06 L’Arrivée d’Alexandre
07 Treize Nuits
08 Danae
09 Zeus
10 L’Accouchement
11 Les Gorgones
12 Renaissances
13 Le Minotaure
14 Eden
15 Arès
16 Aphrodite
17 Les Naïades
18 Pas de Deux
19 Circonvolutions
20 Les Gémeaux II
21 Icare
22 Danse Funèbre
23 La Guerre

[H/T] – Pitchfork