Year In Tunes: The Top 10 Albums Of 2016

Last week, we presented you with our list of the ‘Top 15 Remixes of 2016’Today, we’re back with the next installment in our ‘Year In Tunes’ series: EDMTunes’ ‘Top 10 Albums of 2016’. Critics love to say that the electronic music album is dying, but judging by our list, it still has some fight left in it. Artists like DJ Snake, GRiZ and Gareth Emery presented us with some fantastic efforts, but our #1 still managed to win in a landslide.

In order to determine our ‘Top 10 Albums of 2016’, EDMTunes’ editors created a Facebook poll and asked our staff to select their 5 favorite LPs of the year. We also requested that people take both quality and popularity into consideration when voting to ensure that the list isn’t “too obscure” or “too mainstream”. Since this is a poll of our staff, we understand that the list isn’t going to please everyone. That being said, we feel that it’s a great representation of the EDMTunes family.

10. Dusky – Outer

Release date: October 14th, 2016
Label: Polydor Records
Album highlights: “Ingrid Is A Hybrid”, “Sort It Out Sharon”, “Long Wait”

9. Gareth Emery – 100 Reasons To Live

Release date: April 1st, 2016
Label: Garuda
Album highlights: “Reckless”, “Save Me”, “Until We Meet Again”

8. Illenium – Ashes

Release date: February 15th, 2016
Label: Kasaya / Seeking Blue
Album highlights: “Fortress”, “I’ll Be Your Reason”, “Afterlife”

7. DJ Snake – Encore

Release date: August 5th, 2016
Label: DJ Snake Music
Album highlights: “Middle”, “Propaganda”, “Let Me Love You”

6. Big Gigantic – Brighter Future 

Release date: August 26th, 2016
Label: Big Gigantic
Album highlights: “All Of Me”, “C’mon”, “The Little Things”

5. GRiZ – Good Will Prevail 

Release date: September 23rd, 2016
Label: All Good Records
Album highlights: “Can’t Hold Me Down”, “Good Times Roll”, “Gotta Push On”

4. Justin Martin – Hello Clouds 

Release date: April 20th, 2016
Label: Dirtybird
Album highlights: “Hello Clouds”, “Back To The Jungle”, “The Feels”

3. deadmau5 – w:/2016album/

Release date: December 2nd, 2016
Label: mau5trap
Album highlights: “Let Go”, “4ware”, “Imaginary Friends”, “Snowcone”

2. Flume – Skin

Release date: May 27th, 2016
Label: Future Classic
Album highlights: “Never Be Like You”, “Say It”, “Wall Fuck”, “Smoke & Retribution”

1. Eric Prydz – Opus

Release date: February 5th, 2016
Label: Eric Prydz Ltd
Album highlights: “Opus”, “Generate”, “The Matrix”, “Every Day”


What do you think about our ‘Top 10 Albums of 2016’? Let us know in the comments! Also, be sure to stay tuned for our ‘Top Originals’ list.