midland essential mix

midland essential mix

Over the course of 2016, as we have for many years past, we look to BBC Radio 1’s Essential Mix series for some of the best and brightest to showcase their work to a massive global audience. At the end of each year, one mix is chosen among all to reign as the Essential Mix of the Year. For this year, British DJ Harry Agius – also known as Midland – has won.

Midland takes home this honor after beating out numerous other prodigious DJs and producers, including Dusky, Recondite, and Ame X Dixon. He follows Ben Klock in succession, who won the 2015 award.

You can listen to the mix and find the tracklist below.


Nick Drake – Introduction [Island] Map.ache – You R The Bonus [Giegling] Benedkit Frey – Portal [MRT] Musiccargo – Ich Geh Den Weg Mit Dir [Amontillado Music] Aufgang – Demo 3 [Neabau] Kusuma – Beat les [White Label] C/Or – Bells, Walking [White Label] Midland – Decompression Suite [Aus Music] Grauzone – Eisbaer (ILO’s Warped Edit) [Lo Fi Edits] Patrick Cowley – Thief of Love [Honey Soundsystem] Kishore Kumar – Apni To Jaise (Midland Edit) [White Label] King Sunny Adé – Sunny Ti De Ariya (Midland Panorama Bar Edit) [White Label] Ploy – Move Yourself [Hessle Audio] Midland – Outpost [Graded] Dynamo Dreesen – B1 [Sued] Midland – Holdup [Graded] Jon Hopkins – Vessel (Four Tet Remix) [Double Six] Silver Apples – Ruby [Kaap] Talk Talk – The Rainbow [EMI] Anthony Child – Midnight Rain [Editions Mego] Commix – Japanese Electronics (Instra:mental Moog remix) [Metalheadz] Jai Paul – Jasmine [XL] Jon Daly – Solitaire [IRR Germany] Solitary Dancer – Desire + Apathy [White Label] Sfire – 6 [Ultramajic] Midland – Double Feature [ReGraded] Midland – Final Credits [ReGraded] Frankie Valli – The Night [Mowest]