Above & Beyond Drops Anjunabeats Volume 12


Anjunabeats Volume 12

The time of the year has come for Above & Beyond to release their annual Anjunabeats compilation. Having always been a perfect representation of what they play on their Group Therapy radio show, the series of compliations over the years have shifted from pure trance, trance 2.0 and now, with the latest two editions, sprinkling in a few tracks that fit the mold of a more progressive, deep house sound on the first discs.

Starting the first disc off is recent Anjunadeep moves maker Cubicolor, producing a sultry atmosphere complete with drawn out pads and a seering vocal in his remix of Howling’s “X Machina”. Cubicolor returns again on the first disc with a Lane 8 interpretation of “Got This Feeling”; an incredible take with some deeper tones added in. Breakout artist Yotto, who also contributes two tunes on the first leg of the journey is included alongside other honorable mentions T.P & Leu Leu Land, Andrew Bayer, Above & Beyond and Spencer Brown.

On to disc 2. Back on ABGT 150, the trio supergroup debuted quite a number of new originals from the label. After their AMA on Reddit in early 2014, they had pretty much squashed any return of their famed and more relaxed moniker, Oceanlab. Well, the following GIF proves us wrong.

Originally, there was a huge backlash with them sounding just like Above & Beyond’s new trance 2.0 sound with Justine Suissa at the healm for vocals. As the tracklist for ABGT150 surfaced, people where made aware that this was the A&B club mix of the tune; giving fans hope after all. Barging out of the gates on disc two, “Another Chance” had my hair standing on end with endless amounts of goosebumps.

Two previously released remixes from A&B play back to back, Faithless’ “Salva Mea 2.0” and Jean-Michel Jarre & Tangerine’s “Dream” with two other originals remixed from their We Are All We Need album. A stand out of the second leg is the 2015 remix of Arty’s “Kate”, a cheeky number that keeps on giving with it’s ethereal vibes and subtle additions. A few other pieces that complete the journey are from Genix, Sunny Lax, Oliver Smith, Ilan Bluestone and more.

This, in this writers opinion, is the best compilation to date, with 8 and 10 not being too far behind. Listen for yourself. You’re in for a treat.

Anjunabeats Volume 12 | Buy

Disc 1
1. Howling – X Machina (Cubicolor Remix)
2. Thomas Schwartz & Fausto Fanizza – Circles
3. Oliver Smith – Your Love
4. Jaytech – Great Divide
5. Cubicolor – Got This Feeling (Lane 8 Remix)
6. Vintage & Morelli – Contrasts
7. Yotto feat. CAPS – Wondering (Club Mix)
8. TP & Leu Leu Land – Revelation
9. Jerome Isma-Ae & Alastor feat. London Thor – Smoke & Mirrors
10. Above & Beyond feat. Gemma Hayes – Counting Down The Days (Yotto Remix)
11. Spencer Brown – Wannamaker
12. Boom Jinx & Meredith Call – Bring Me Back Around
13. Andrew Bayer – Memories
14. Kyau & Albert – Bend Girl
15. Sunny Lax – Enceladus
16. Above & Beyond feat. Zoë Johnston – Treasure (Kyau & Albert Remix)
17. Jason Ross & Wrechiski – Frontier

Disc 2
1. Above & Beyond pres. OceanLab – Another Chance
2. Grum feat. Rothchild – Under Your Skin
3. Nick Sember – Mezzo Forte
4. Faithless – Salva Mea 2.0 (Above & Beyond Remix)
5. Jean-Michel Jarre & Tangerine Dream – Zero Gravity (Above & Beyond Remix)
6. Above & Beyond – Out Of Time (Above & Beyond Club Mix)
7. Arty – Kate (2015 Remix)
8. Above & Beyond feat. Zoë Johnston – Fly To New York (Above & Beyond vs. Jason Ross Club Mix)
9. Genix & Sunny Lax – Black Water
10. ilan Bluestone feat. Giuseppe de Luca – Bigger Than Love
11. Kyau & Albert – About The Sun
12. Oliver Smith – Mirage
13. Above & Beyond – A.I.
14. Andrew Bayer – Celestial
15. ilan Bluestone & Maor Levi feat. Jeza – Shake The Air
16. Above & Beyond feat. Justine Suissa – Little Something (Super8 & Tab Remix)
17. Andrew Bayer – Nobody Told Me
18. Above & Beyond – Alone Tonight (Jason Ross Remix)